Precious Moments With My Arrows

ponytails

One of the great joys of my life includes combing my daughter’s hair and putting it in the most adorable styles. I love seeing her with ponytails, zigzag parts, barrettes, bows, and bangs. It truly gives me so much joy. Her reaction to the styles is priceless as well. As I’m preparing her hair with moisturizer, water, and coconut oil, I always ask her “what do you want me to do to your hair today?” At her current age, she responds in random minion speech along with a few English words that I recognize.  Then, I simply say “okay” and give her the style that I think she requested.

Now the styling process can be a bit chaotic depending on how Princess feels that day.  Let’s keep in mind that she is a toddler so we know they never sit, stand, or stay at your command.  After a bit of squirming, wiggling, squealing, laughing, smiling, and in between “I love you” exchanges the job ends up getting done.  I love how tiny hands reach up and grab strands of hair as I style it because I know she’s trying to figure out what I’m doing.  I also enjoy how she hands me rubber bands, the comb, and brush upon request, along with every barrette she can find.

arrows

Cute anecdotes aside, I enjoy every opportunity provided when it comes to spending some alone time with each of my children.  With Bear, I enjoy letting him teach me how to play the latest game or the cool new dance moves.  Currently we are taking Spanish and Sign Language classes together so those sessions give us time to bond while we both learn something new.  With Bam Bam, I look forward to our morning snuggles and exercise time because he is our earliest riser.  And I do mean EARLY RISER.  No matter what time he goes to bed, he is up like he has to be at work by 7:45 am.  We have plenty of one on one time during preschool and our creative play this school year has been so much fun.

 

 

Spending the precious moments with our arrows is needed to connect with them, build (strengthen, restore) your relationship, and keep the lines of communication open.  And, if you’re like me you can also use it as an opportunity to answer that age old question asked to every parent with multiple children. “Which one of us is your favorite?”  I just simply remind whomever I’m engaged with that they are my FAVORITE <insert child’s name here> and their uniqueness is going to be used for God’s glory.  I look forward to these moments because in a full house it is hard to find quality time for each child on a daily basis.  During these moments, I talk with my children and ask open ended questions to see what the latest thing on their mind is.  All the while, I’m mentally praying and seeking God for guidance on how I can be a great mom to each arrow.

So, moms, enjoy the precious moments with your little ones because time is always moving forward.  We will never have our babies back so it is up to us to nurture the individual relationships so they can mature and grow along with our children.  When you’re sitting there with your precious gift from God laughing or teaching them something new, pray over them and share your faith with them.  Our faith is the most precious gift of all and there is nothing more rewarding than watching our sharp arrows (adult children) walk the narrow path (stay in God’s will) and teach their arrows (our grandchildren) to do the same.  To hear more Raising Sharp Arrows, watch my recent video about Psalm 127.

 

Remember to make the time spent with your children, quality time.quality-time

For additional encouragement, check out this Mommy Moment video about speaking encouraging words to our children.

 

Make this week excellent,

Ta’Neisha K.

 

Published by Ta'Neisha K.

Wife to a great husband. Mother to great children. My family is my ministry.

3 thoughts on “Precious Moments With My Arrows

Leave a comment